After Julia

Decibel | 20 April, 2015

Presented by Tura New Music and PICA, as part of Tura’s 2015 Scale Variable Series.


A sonic perspective on Australia’s first female Prime Minister.

After Julia is a concert of works by Australian women responding to a pivotal moment in contemporary Australian politics, Julia Gillard’s term in office. Featuring eight newly commissioned works by outstanding Australian composers, After Julia provides an opportunity to reflect on the situation Gillard faced with the consideration, sensitivity, and time only afforded by art practice, something distinctively lacking in the Australian media cycle that has provided the commentary to date.

Featuring a diverse collection of works utilising a small choir, spoken phrases turned into musical gestures, mouth organs and instructions from goldfish, this one night only concert celebrates Decibel’s ongoing engagement with experimental music practices.

  • Decibel are

    Cat Hope (director, flutes, bass, voice)

    Lindsay Vickery (reeds, electronics)

    Tristen Parr (Cello)

    Aaron Wyatt (viola, programming)

    Stuart James (piano, percussion, electronics)

    Louise Devenish (percussion)

  • Composed by Michaela Davies, Andrée Greenwell, Cat Hope, Laura Lowther, Cathy Milliken, Kate Moore, Gail Priest & Thembi Soddell.

  • Program:

    Gail Priest: Everything and Nothing

    Thembi Soddell: Your Sickness is Found in My Body

    Cat Hope – Tough it Out

    Cathy Milliken – Schifrorl

    Michaela Davies – Goldfish Variations


    Laura Jane Lowther – Loaded [NSFW] (world premiere)

    Kate Moore – Oil Drums

    Andrée Greenwell – Arrows I, II


  • Location

    Central Gallery

  • Date & Time

    20 April, 7.30pm

  • Tickets

    Available now for $15-25.

    Click here to buy.