Hatched 2013

National Graduate Show | 20 April - 9 June

PICA’s ever-popular Hatched returns in 2013 for its 22nd edition. Continuing to be the only national survey of its kind, this year’s Hatched features 37 artists from 20 art schools across Australia. A total of 90 students were considered for selection by a panel comprised of MCA Curator Glenn Barkley; Independent Curator Isabel Ching; Artist and OK Gallery Director Andrew Varano; PICA Curator Leigh Robb and PICA Special Projects Curator Tim Carter.

Musing on the zeitgeist of today, Hatched 2013 highlights popular and recurring trends in contemporary art while representing a broad cross-section of practices ranging from painting, drawing, print, photography and sculpture to performance, installation, sound and the moving image. This year the Hatched artists emerge with toolkits packed with irony, pastiche and parody as they return to analogue methodologies and embrace the hand of the artist. They adopt the roles of historians, archivists and quasi-scientists by collecting and indexing data to understand the worlds they inhabit. The role of the art object is also placed under critique with artists using their work to intervene in the public sphere. In a significant trend, artists also reflect on the effect of the internet and today’s digital reign over forms of communication.

For a fourth consecutive year, The Doctor Harold Schenberg Art Prize of $35,000 will be awarded to one outstanding Hatched artist allowing them to further invest in their career. In its 22 years, Hatched has become a vital compass in identifying the most dynamic emerging practices from a new generation of artists. Join us as these artists seek to establish their own creative terrain and grapple with the often inexplicable behaviour of today’s world.

WINNER of The Doctor Harold Schenberg Art Prize: Shan Turner-Carroll

  • Adelaide Central School of Art (SA)
    Anna Gore, Jenna Pippett

    Australian National University (ACT)
    Jemima Parker

    Charles Darwin University (NT)
    Ian Hance

    Central Institute of Technology (WA)
    Carla Adams, Lauren Broom, Pascal Proteau

    Curtin University of Technology (WA)
    Kieron Broadhurst, Ben Rodin

    Edith Cowan University (WA)
    Grace Denness

    Monash University (VIC)
    Jen Broadhurst, Jimmy Nuttall, Shannon Stanwell

    National Art School (NSW)
    Lucas Baynes, James Nguyen

    Queensland University of Technology (QLD)
    Clark Beaumont, Marnie Edmiston

    RMIT University (VIC)
    Danny Digby, Harry Hay, Guy Pascoe

    Southern Cross University (NSW)
    Nikkita Horne

    TAFE SA – Adelaide College of the Arts (SA)
    Tom Borgas, Tatiana Tsakalos

    Tasmanian College of the Arts, University of Tasmania (TAS)
    Julien Scheffer

    University of Ballarat (VIC)
    Peter Georgakis

    The University of Melbourne (VIC)
    Bronwen Davies, Kenny Pittock, Brodie Wood

    The University of Newcastle (NSW)
    Shan Turner-Carroll

    The University of New South Wales (NSW)
    Daniel Connell, Jack Stahel

    The University of Sydney (NSW)
    Samuel Galileo Quinteros

    The University of Western Australia (WA)
    Alex Wolman

    University of Wollongong (NSW)
    Gillian Dinh, Jacqueline Mcleish, Desiree Tahiri

  • Location

    All PICA Galleries

  • Opening Night

    Friday 19 April, 6-9pm