Jacobus Capone

Artist in Residence | 10 September - 19 December

Jacobus Capone will be using the residency to create Nine prayers for Palomar; a series of nine gestures/prayers which will be executed through drawing, installation, painting, video and performance.

The nine gestures will constitute a single body of work and may be seen as a homage and translation of the nine subsections constructing Italo Calvino’s novel Palomar. In Palomar, the protagonist’s complex internalisation of all images around him questions the relationship between the self and the world. His attempt to quantify his own universe manifests as an act in trying to define and explain existence.


Nine prayers for Palomar

Tuesday 21 – Tuesday 28 September, ongoing performance
meditations ( seven puddles)

Friday 1 – Saturday 2 October, durational performance with Mal Capone (Jacobus’ father)
for now forever, for the time being forever, while this lasts forever (coeur)

Tuesday 5 October – Wednesday 13 October
everything and nothing

Friday 15 – Saturday 16 October
(her – us – he)
The sentence repeated continuously for two days:
“Multicoloured hours / Minutes like trees / Moments like flowers
Time frozen in space / Time dead from space –
Covered by flowers / By the fragrance of flowers
By the fragrance of the names of flowers”

Tuesday 19 October – Monday 25 October
On shopping (bread, wine, fish, squab, fat)

Tuesday 26 October – Sunday 31 October
From the terrace (place) (footage of dust, two plywood houses)

Friday 5 November – Thursday 18 November
On the sky (The Body as a Constellation)

Tuesday 23 November – Thursday 2 December
Secret songs for a Stielbacht

Tuesday 7 December – 19 December
On the beach (for a farewell)

  • Artist
  • Jacobus Capone
  • Location

    Clock Tower

  • Dates

    10 September – 19 December, 2010